

STATE OF WASHINGTON

## STATE BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

1500 Jefferson Street SE • P.O. Box 41449 • Olympia, Washington 98504 (360) 407-9277 • e-mail sbcc@des.wa.gov • www.sbcc.wa.gov

## STATE BUILDING CODE COUNCIL SUMMARY MEETING MINUTES

LOCATION: The meeting was held at 1500 Jefferson St SE, Olympia, WA; Room 2331, with Zoom and teleconference options.

**MEETING DATE:** Wednesday, May 24, 2023

<u>Members in Attendance</u>: Tony Doan, Council Chair, Kjell Anderson, Jay Arnold, Todd Beyreuther, Justin Bourgault, Micah Chappell, Tom Handy, Roger Heeringa, Matthew Hepner, Craig Holt, Tye Menser, Katy Sheehan, Senator John Lovick, Senator Lynda Wilson

Members Absent: Daimon Doyle, Pete Rieke, Caroline Traube

**<u>Staff In Attendance</u>**: Managing Director Stoyan Bumbalov, Assistant Attorney General Dierk Meierbachtol, Krista Braaksma, Kris Irelan, Rozanna Moreno

**Visitors Present:** Ann Larson, Bryan Ahee, Larry Andrews, Kim Barker, Sam Beeson, Andy Bley, Gretchan Blum, Joe Boros, Chris Boroughs, Jim Breidenbach, Ken Brouillette, Diana Brown, Matt Campbell, Ian Casey, Shannon Corcoran, Kim Cushing, Shane DeLaCruz, Sean Denniston, Samantha Doyle, Kevin Duell, Chris Edmark, Bryan Galvin, Steven Ghan, Noelia Gravotta, Mark Hanson, Angela Haupt, Jim Hedemark, Andy Higgins, Brian Holtzclaw, Jessica Hostetler, David Laconangelo, Ardel Jala, Ty Jennings, Trace Justice, Rod Kauffman, Kevin Kaul, Jonny Kocher, Eric Lacey, Jeremy Larson, Greg Lasher, Duane Lewellen, Charles LoPresti, Georginna Lucas, Brian Ludwig, Darin MacGillivray, Ted McCammant, Kurt Nabbefeld, Eurydice Pentz, Scott Peterson, Kathleen Petrie, Bruce Rathbone, Liz Reichart, Derrick Rock, Kevin Rose, Kat Rosenbaum, John Rothlin, Rae Rushing, Reed Rushing, Jonathan Sargeant, Tim Schweitzer, Tom Shimp, July Simpson, Deepa Sivarajan, Andrea Smith, Gary Smith, Tom Smithson, Andy Stamschror, Duane Stordahl, Emily Strobridge, Kurt Swanson, Scott Swantek, Steve Tapio, Gavin Tenold, James Whigham, Rick Wilkerson, Bill Will, Wayne Williams

Agenda Items	Committee Actions/Discussion
1. Welcome and Introductions	The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Council Chair Tony Doan. Roll was called and a quorum was present.
2. Review and Approve Agenda	<b>Motion:</b> Kjell Anderson moved to approve the Agenda, Micah Chappell seconded, the motion passed.
3. Executive Session	The Council recessed into executive session at 10:09 a.m.

This material in alternative formats including braille, large print, and audio recording is available on request by emailing the SBCC at <u>sbcc@des.wa.gov</u>.

	The meeting was called back to order at 12:18 p.m. Council Chair Tony Doan reconvened the meeting. Roll was taken and a quorum was established.
4. Requests to Delay the Energy Code Effective Date	<b>Motion</b> : Kjell Anderson moved to delay the effective date of the Energy Codes under Emergency Rulemaking on June 30, 2023, for 120 days to address issues of the Codes and for training purposes, Roger Heeringa seconded.
	Kjell Anderson spoke to his motion as did Roger Heeringa as seconder.
	<b>Motion with amendment</b> by Kjell Anderson begin the rulemaking process by filing a CR-101 to make modifications to the Commercial and the Residential Energy Codes to reduce the risk related to the <i>California Restaurant Association vs City of Berkeley</i> decision relative to EPCA and to convene TAGs for both the Commercial and Residential Energy Codes, Roger Heeringa seconded, the motion passed.
5. Adjourn	Meeting was adjourned at 1:27 p.m.