About SBCC

The State Building Code Council was created to advise the Legislature on building code issues and to develop the building codes used in Washington state. These codes help to ensure buildings and facilities constructed in the state are safe and healthy for building occupants, accessible to persons with disabilities and the elderly, and energy efficient.

Helps to assure the public is safe

The State Building Code (SBC) is the minimum construction requirement for the state of Washington; the current code includes:

  • 2021 International Building Code with statewide amendments
  • ICC/ANSI A117.1-2017, Accessible and Usable Buildings and Facilities, with statewide amendments (adopted as part of the IBC)
  • 2021 International Existing Building Code with statewide amendments (adopted through the IBC)
  • 2021 International Residential Code with statewide amendments
  • 2021International Mechanical Code with statewide amendments
  • 2020 Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code (NFPA 58) For LP Gas
  • 2021 National Fuel Gas Code (NFPA 54) for LP Gas installations
  • 2021 International Fuel Gas Code with statewide amendments (adopted as part of the IMC)
  • 2021 International Fire Code with statewide amendments
  • 2021 Uniform Plumbing Code with statewide amendments
  • 2021 Washington State Energy Code-Commercial
  • 2021 Washington State Energy Code-Residential
  • 2023 National Electrical Code (NFPA 70) -- Please see the Department of Labor and Industries for information on the adoption and amendment of the National Electrical Code.

The 2021 Codes are effective as of March 15, 2023.  

Provides detailed technical review of the State Building Code

  • State Building Code updated on a three year cycle
  • Rule-making provides a process for amendments to national and state codes
  • Technical Advisory Groups (TAGs) include experts in design and construction
  • Code language is developed by technical experts, council members, and staff
  • The code is developed through open meetings and public hearings, including TAG meetings for review of each code;
    • For 2021 code adoption cycle, TAGs were chaired by Council members, as follows:
      • Commercial Energy Code TAG: Kjell Anderson
      • Residential Energy Code TAG: Kjell Anderson
      • International Building Code / International Existing Building Code TAG: Todd Beyreuther
      • International Residential Code and Wildland-Urban Interface Code TAG: 
      • Mechanical Ventilation and Plumbing Codes TAG: Ben Omura
      • Fire Code TAG: Roger Heeringa
  • Standing Committees made up of Council members are also established for further review and consideration of proposals after the TAGs have made an initial recommendation.
    • For 20241 code cycle assignment of Standing Committee members were as follows:
      • Building, Fire, Residential and Wildland-Urban Interface Codes Committee is chaired by Roger Heeringa. Members include Daimon Doyle, Todd Beyreuther, Tom Handy, and Craig Holt Fire Code Chair TBD
      • Mechanical, Ventilation, Plumbing and Energy Codes Committee is chaired by Jay Arnold. Members include Kjell Anderson, Ben Omura, Daimon Doyle, Justin Bourgault, Peter Reike, and Katy Sheehan.
  • During each legislative session, the Council must be aware of any pending legislation that may impact the building codes; a Council Legislative Committee is established to meet and consider impacts of proposed legislation and to develop a Council position on pending legislation for consideration by the Council. 
    • Legislative Committee is chaired by Tom Handy. Members include Daimon Doyle, Roger Heeringa, Kjell Anderson, Jay Arnold, Matthew Hepner, and Representative Alex Ramel. 
  • The Executive Committee shall assist the Chair in overseeing budget development, administrative and personnel matters of the Council, planning for the orderly discharge of Council responsibilities, and fulfilling any other responsibilities deemed necessary by the Council.
    • Executive Committee is Chaired By Daimon Doyle. Members include Todd Beyreuther, Jay Arnold, Roger Heeringa, Tom Handy 
  • Each proposal that is considered for adoption must include information on potential economic impacts; the Council has established a Workgroup of Economic Impact made up of the TAG chairs to review economic information provided by proponents.  (See the list of TAG chairs, above.)